Jump to the Content

Blue Planet Prize Laureates Statement: Planetary Prosperity Means Zero Carbon

Nov. 4, 2017, is the the first anniversary of the Paris Climate Agreement entering into force.

Nov. 6 – 27 is the UN COP23 Climate Conference, hosted by Fiji in Bonn, Germany.

Dec. 12 is the two-year anniversary of the approval of the Paris Climate Agreement at the UN COP21 Climate Conference.

To celebrate these milestones, 31 Blue Planet Prize Laureates joined forces to remind the world that the agreement is achievable and desirable. They declared:

Planetary Prosperity Means Zero Carbon

The resource hunger of the human enterprise has become too large for our planet. The Paris Climate Agreement recognizes this. It aims to limit global warming to less than 2°C above the preindustrial level. This means ceasing fossil-fuel use before 2050, increasing ecosystem and biodiversity conservation, and improving human well-being.

We, Blue Planet Laureates, wholeheartedly and emphatically support this transformation. It is technologically possible, economically beneficial, and our best chance for a prosperous future.

Our planet is finite. But human possibilities are not. The transformation will succeed if we apply people’s greatest strengths: foresight, innovation, and care for each other.

In addition to Global Footprint Network CEO Mathis Wackernagel, the 31 Blue Planet Prize Laureates who launched this statement include:

Barefoot College with Mr. Bunker Roy Dr. Thomas E. Lovejoy
Prof. Dr. Markus Borner Dr. Amory B. Lovins
Dr. Wallace Smith Broecker Dr. Syukuro Manabe
Conservation International with Dr. Russell A. Mittermeier and Dr. Peter Seligmann Prof. Harold A. Mooney
Prof. Gretchen Daily Prof. Qu Geping
Prof. em. Herman Daly Prof. William E. Rees
Sir Partha Dasgupta Prof. Karl-Henrik Robèrt
Prof. Paul R. Ehrlich Prof. Jeffrey D. Sachs
Prof. em. Jose Goldemberg Prof. John Schellnhuber
Dr. James E. Hansen Dr. Susan Solomon
IIED with Dr. Andrew Norton, Director Prof. James Gustave Speth
IUCN with Ms. Inger Andersen, Secretary General Mr. Pavan Sukhdev
Prof. Daniel H. Janzen Dr. M. S. Swaminathan
Dr. Gene E. Likens Dr. Mathis Wackernagel
Dr. Claude Lorius  Sir Robert Watson

For media inquiries, please contact Ronna Kelly at ronna.kelly@footprintnetwork.org.

Please share this statement. Other images available for download: