Jump to the Content

Our People

Meet the team that makes us great!

Chief Executive Officer
Laurel Hanscom
Founder, President
Mathis Wackernagel, Ph.D.
Chief Science Officer
David Lin, Ph.D.
Food Systems Project Lead
Marta Antonelli, Ph.D.
Project Coordinator
Debora Barioni
Executive Operations Coordinator
Marissa Belau
Communications Manager
Amanda Diep
Director, Mediterranean and MENA Regions
Alessandro Galli, Ph.D.
Research Economist
Katsunori Iha
Director, Special Initiatives
Laetitia Mailhes
Research Scientist
Maria Serena Mancini, Ph.D.
Office Manager, Geneva
Loredana Serban
Digital Engagement Associate
Michelle Shaffer
Research Associate
Leopold Wambersie
IT Manager
Robert Williams

Board of Directors

Board Chairman, Global Footprint Network; Founder & CEO, NEUW Ventures
Keith Tuffley
Founder, President, Global Footprint Network
Mathis Wackernagel, Ph.D.
Susan Burns
Former Director General, IUCN; Executive Fellow, Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
Julia Marton-Lefèvre
Co-founder, Atlas Unbound
Alexa Firmenich
COO, Industrial Logic Inc.
Sandra Browne, MBA
Policy Counsel, Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance
Rosanna Marie Neil
Founding Partner, onValues
Ivo Knoepfel, Ph.D., CIIA

Science and Policy Advisory Council

Terry A’Hearn, Chief Executive Officer at Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Oscar Arias, Former President, Costa Rica
Rosalía Arteaga Serrano, Former President of the Republic of Ecuador
Lester Brown, Founder emeritus, Earth Policy Institute
Herman Daly, Intellectual Father of Ecological Economics
Fabio Feldmann, Former Minister of Environment, São Paulo
Eric Garcetti, Mayor, Los Angeles
Stephen Groff, Governor of the National Development Fund of Saudi Arabia, former Vice President, Asia Development Bank, Southeast Asia/Pacific
Tom Lovejoy, Professor at George Mason University, former World Bank’s chief biodiversity advisor, former President of the H. John Heinz III Center,
Daniel Pauly, Leading marine ecologist, University of British Columbia
Jorgen Randers, Professor of Climate Strategy, Norwegian School of Management
Peter Raven, Former President, Missouri Botanical Gardens
William E. Rees, Co-creator of the Ecological Footprint, University of British Columbia
Karl-Henrik Robèrt, Founder, The Natural Step
Emil Salim, Former Indonesian Minister of State
James Gustave Speth, Founder, World Resources Institute
Will Steffen, Former Director, Australian National University’s Climate Change Institute
Per Espen Stoknes, chair of the Center for Green Growth at the Norwegian Business School
David Suzuki, Award-winning Scientist and Broadcaster
M.S. Swaminathan, India’s Leading Scientist on Sustainable Food Security
Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker, Founding President of Wuppertal Institute
Dominique Voynet, Former Environment Minister, France, and Former Mayor, Montreuil
E.O. Wilson, Museum of Comparative Zoology Professor Emeritus, Harvard University, www.half-earthproject.org


Veronica Arias, Climate and City Specialist
Corinne Hanson, Sustainable Business Specialist
Sebastián Navarro, Climate Ambassador and Envoy
Kristine Jiao, Communications
Mikel Evans, Research Analyst
Evan Neill,
Research Analyst
Michael Wang,
Front-end Designer
Jag Alexeyev,
Founder, Impactvesting LLC, New York, NY
Melita Elmore, Principal Consultant, British Standards Institution, Austin, Texas
Annabel Hertz, Grant Writer, Washington, DC
Robert Klijn, Managing Director and ESG Specialist, Fair Impact, Netherlands
Yoshihiko Wada, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Ecological Economics, Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japan, and Executive Director,  Ecological Footprint Japan

Learn about job opportunities at Global Footprint Network.